After twilight:My take on the book by Stephenie Meyer

It was late Friday evening when my friend Boots IM’d me and gushed about this really great “Harry Potter-like” book about Vampires and werewolves. I am a huge fan of Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. I loved all Anne Rice’s books and I was intrigued by this. I talked to my husband about my conversation with Boots and it turned out that one of our friends, Ayi, was also hooked on it. The book/s they have been talking about is the Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer.

According to wikipedia, the series is currently one of the most popular written for young adults, having sold 50 million copies worldwide and over 7.7 million copies in the U.S. alone. The books have been translated into over 20 different languages around the world.

According to Boots, Meyer even mentioned a Filipino Vampire in her book. I was quite surprised that this has been going on for sometime now. I got me a copy of the book and tried to figure out what all the fuss was about.

What I am about to write next contains some spoilers about the book. If you have plans about reading it, you can stop reading now and just return to my blog after you finished reading.

The story is about Isabella “Bella” Swan, and her rollercoaster love affair with the vampire “Edward Cullen”, who she eventually marries and have a baby. Its starts out with Bella moving from sunny Phoenix to the rainy town of Forks in Washington to live with his Dad “Charlie”. She hated the move to Forks, but apparently she had no choice since her Mom had remarried. Her father leaves her home most of the time and rarely spends quality time with her, so she finds solace in the arms of her vampire boyfriend.

I was bothered by the fact that Bella whined a lot about her appearance and how her life seemed to revolve around Edward eventhough there was a lot of people at school who she can make friends with. The whole first book was about how gloriously beautiful Edward’s body is and about his dazzling Topaz eyes. Meyer is a good writer,it just made my skin crawl whenever Bella complains how plain she looks, and how obsessed she was about how perfect Edward is. And the fact that she’s such a wimp makes me cringe.

I do understand that when you are a teenager, relationships “rule” your life. It’s all these hormones kicking and it’s quite natural to feel insecure about your appearance at that age. I just wished Meyer gave some spunk to Bella and made her a little practical. I’m disappointed with her character because there was no depth in her. I would have expected it from someone who grew up fending for herself and her absent-minded mother.

I just find it disturbing, that young women like this. In book 2-New Moon, Meyer makes violence seem romantic. There is Sam-the-werewolf and his wife Emily, whose face he so brutally slashed when he turned into a werewolf. Bella describes Emily like this:

“The right side of her face was scarred from hairline to chin by 3 thick red lines, livid in color though they were long healed. One line pulled down the corner of her dark almond-shaped right eye, another twisted the right side of her mouth into a permanent grimace.”

Ugh, that is one mean scar. But Emily is a martyr, cooking and cleaning for the wolf pack. When Sam walked in the house and saw Emily, he makes a show of kissing the wife he almost killed.

Bella said, “I watched him cross the room in one stride and take her face in his wide hands. He leaned down and kissed the dark scars on her right cheek before he kissed her lips.”

Seriously, would you still stay with someone who hacked your face? This reeks of domestic violence but Bella said:

“this was so REAL that it sang out loud with JOY and LIFE and True Love.”

TRUE LOVE? I think I’m going to be sick. If my husband so much as hacks my face, Werewolf or not, I’ll hack his face as well. But that being said, I know how hard it is for women who get beaten by their husband to pack their bags and leave. I just don’t believe its okay to let someone hurt you and let him get away with it.

I found out that there are others who dont like the book as well. I just don’t like it, It goes against what I believe in. It may be a best seller, but it’s not my kind of thing. I thank Boots for sharing it with me. I like my heroines strong, and can stand up for themselves. Women who can speak out their mind, and doesn’t trip a lot, and need a man to complete her (Sorry Renee, the Jerry McGuire line doesn’t really work for me). I think Hermione in Harry Potter is a good role model for teenagers. She may not be a pure-blooded witch, but she is way smarter than Harry Potter! And because of her intelligence, she learned how to be confident and that made her very attractive.

It is wrong to think that it’s normal to lose yourself, your personality to a man. You have to love, respect, and take care of yourself first if you want them to treat you the same. In my experience with most male friends I know (married and single), they get tired of clingy, overly demanding partners. You have to find a balance, relationships take a lot of work.

If you like the book, read it and decide for yourself. Just remember that although it’s okay to fall in love, it may take a lot of heartaches before you know or meet the right one (and avoid vampires who will bleed you dry). Always keep your doors open.

I think I’ll just stick to my vampire chronicles.

3 thoughts on “After twilight:My take on the book by Stephenie Meyer

  1. hi alisa,

    nakupo. nabuking tuloy ang ‘cheesy’ side ko. i’d rather read the twilight saga kesa sa mga romance books ng summit media. hehe. ikaw naman… yun na nga lang chick lit. ko…

    i agree with your take on the book. bella became too obsessed with edward. umabot na nga sa point of asking the cullens to make her a vampire. tanga dba?! i haven’t read eclipse and breaking dawn… malay mo, magbago si mareng bella. mauntog or something…

    anyway, magandang usapan yan pag nagkita tayo uli…

  2. Hi Ayi,

    In fairness, magaling din si Stephenie Meyer sumulat kasi kahit imbiernes ako sa babaitang si Bella, eh napabasa ako hanggang sa ika-apat na libro at iyon ay dahil kay Jake/Jacob. Im guilty of skipping lines kapag duma-drama na naman si Bella sa kagwapuhan ni Edward na malamig pa sa bangkay. Seriously, masarap ba akapin ang isang ref? Naalala ko tuloy si Janice de Belen sa Shake Rattle and Roll part1-yung nire-rape sya ng ref (musmos ka pa lang ata ng pinalabas yun, I had nightmares about the fridge pagkatapos ko mapanuod yun)

    They are going to release a movie of Twilight this sa November 11, 2008 siguro mas maganda pa kung movie na lang sya kesa libro *peace*

  3. Pingback: Jacob forevaah « Thumbbook

Leave a Reply

