Songs from United States of Tara

Do you know I’ve been thumbing through the web to look for crumbs on the awesome soundtrack on United States of Tara? I haven’t been this obsessed with a TV series before, it’s not just the really great plot, it’s the soundtrack! Oh man, if you haven’t watched US of Tara, it’s time you do. We are now on the fifth episode, but I sure am going crazy looking for their songs.

The theme song of United States of Tara was done by Tim deLaughter of The Polyphonic Spree (without the oomph of Polyphonic Spree), It’s just Tim doing the vocals and you can surf the web till the cows come home, but you wont find a whole song for this track. Go visit youtube and search for Polyphonic Spree if you want to see them perform live. It’s a cool happy band, with harps, flute, and violins :) He brings that happy positive theme to the Tara theme.

Included in this happy mix in US of Tara, there is a cute song by Dawn Landes called Straight Lines. This song really makes my toes curl *sigh* as well as “Lucky” by indie artist Kat Edmonson. (Thanks Johan for the correction)Just click on her name if you want to listen to her songs in Myspace.

Another band that really rocks was Buck’s song Souljacker Part I by EELS. Here’s the video from youtube, love it!

I know there are people out there who are against United States of Tara, saying it’s mean because the show is making fun of people with DID, it’s not! It actually gives you a better understanding of what people with this condition goes through and how important it is for the family to understand a person with DID. Like John Corbett (Max) said in the show, “It’s not a disease”.

Tim deLaughter said it really well: I know we’ll be just fine, If you learn to love the ride.

update: Season 2 this March 2010

Episode 1 – Pilot:
T appears for the first time
Cheap and Cheerful by The Kills
T checks her MySpace page
My Bubble Gum by Rasheeda
Buck appears for the first time
Souljacker Part I by Eels
The Gregsons go bowling
Cocaine by Eric Clapton
Love of the Loveless by Eels
Episode 2 – Aftermath:
Alice appears for the first time
Flyswatter by Eels
Closing credits
Garbage by Chairlift
Episode 3 – Work
Closing credits
Straight Lines by Dawn Landes
Episode 4 – Inspiration
Closing credits
Lucky by Kat Edmonson
Episode 5 – Revolution
Kate and Gene leave the party
Take it Back by Barenaked Ladies
Closing credits
Fine is Fine by Peasant
Episode 6 – Transition
When Gene and Kate have sex
Dream Police by Cheap Trick
Closing credits
Second Chance by Liam Finn
Episode 7 – Alterations
Tara’s video interview/Max looks up Trip
Tricycle by Psapp
Closing credits
Only a Show by I Monster
Episode 8 – Abundance
Alice’s miscarriage/Closing credits
The Wolves (Act I and II) by Bon Iver
Episode 9 – Possibility
Kate and Tara start their road trip
Keep Your Eyes Ahead by The Helio Sequence
End montage/Closing credits
That Knot Unties? by David Karsten Daniels
Episode 10 – Betrayal
Marshall burns down the shed
Good Morning Heartache by Billie Holiday
Episode 11 – Snow
Dinner with Nick, Marshall, and Charmaine
Sic of Elephants by Andrew Bird
Tara and Max talk on the phone
Arms of Harm by Haley Bonar
Episode 12 – Miracle (Season Finale)
The Gregsons go bowling (again)
Love of the Loveless by Eels Listen

35 thoughts on “Songs from United States of Tara

  1. That’s the same song that is in the opening of
    “Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives” – an awesome documentary about the singer of the Eels (‘s?) father. I have the first part of the video queue up if you click thru my name up there.

  2. Agreed on all counts, but what was the song that closed ep2? I’ve been looking everywhere.

    Hopefully they will release a soundtrack.

    • T appears for the first time : Cheap and Cheerful by The Kills

      T checks her MySpace page: My Bubble Gum by Rasheeda

  3. I love this show! I think people were expecting a rip-roaring comedy, but it goes for a different kind of funny, and it gets there by being real and honest. Toni Collette is fantastic in these roles. As someone who’s lived with a serious mental disorder, I can really appreciate how they combine real life with something as devastating as a disorder where someone isn’t “themselves” half the time. Compassion and humor are definitely key. USoT FTW!

  4. Does anyone know the instrumental song that comes out towards the end of the 2nd episode? I used to know what it was called but I can’t remember, someone please help! :)

  5. What are the songs used for podcasts… you know where you meet her alters T, Buck and Alice? and what are the songs from the Trailer for Season 1

  6. Does anyone know the music during episode 3, when Tara is getting ready for Max the lyrics I caught are, “…I’ve been waiting in the corner, I’ve been speaking down the hallway, I’ve been taking precautions to get my share of ____ in the world…” it’s a female singer…

  7. i was wanting to know what the very last song of the last season after the wedding was canceled and tara and max and the kids were dancing in the back yard was called and by who.

  8. I am so glad I found more fans of Tara.

    Would someone please, please know the last song at season 2 fourth episode?
    Something with it’s psychological…….

    Thank you

  9. Hi, I just wanted to say thanks for the list of songs. I love the show and the soundtrack that goes with it! I knew some of the artists and songs but you filled in quite a few gaps for me. Thanks so much!

  10. Pingback: Five Things I Learned from Link Building « Thumbbook

  11. Anyone know how to find the song during the final scenes of this season’s 5th episode “How’d you get the devil to dance…” last scene with Moosh doing the caricature movie… Max and Tara kissing next to the bon fire at the college??

    I’ve been looking all day… can’t find anything!

  12. Anyone know the song at the end of Season 3 Episode 9? I’ve been looking online and can’t find anything anywhere?!

  13. Hi! Im dying to know the song from Season 2 Episode 11 (to have and to hold) the one thats before the closing credits that plays over Kate and Marshall talking… IM DYING TO KNOW! please :)

  14. Does anyone have a collection/listing for the third season? There’s a lot of great music, and it’s a shame that I can’t seem to find a listing of sorts :(

Leave a Reply

