Social networking breeds narcissism

The University of Georgia just recently made a study about Facebook users and how it correlates with narcissism. They had 130 Facebook respondents answer a series of questions, check on facebook profiles, and rate the level of narcissism of different facebook pages. And according to the results:

they are somewhat accurate in their judgements

In my opinion, I’m surprised they discovered or attempted to study this just now. Anyone who has used MySpace, Facebook, Multiply, or Friendster knows all about the level of narcissism inside the profile’s photo album. In 8 out of 10 friend profiles that I view in my own network, they all have the same Friendster/MySpace/Facebook standard portrait.

This isnt me, this is my aunt's photo album, good thing she doesnt read my blog😛

You know the arms length cam shot you take with your own camera? Sometimes the camera is above your head (so you will look slimmer), on your side (so it will look like a “stolen shot”), or directly in front of you (to get that close up shot).

And even Twitter is helping us become narcissistic sons of a bitch, do you really think that people give a fart on what you are doing every 5-30 minutes?

Well, what is wrong about posting pictures of yourself? You’re not hurting anybody right? I guess there’s nothing to worry about, unless you have one of the following symptoms:

  • have a grandiose sense of self-importance ( I am soo handsome/pretty look at all my pictures)
  • is preoccupied with fantasies of unlimited success, power, brilliance, beauty, or ideal love
  • believes that he or she is “special” and unique (I’m the BEST!)
  • requires excessive admiration from your friends/loved ones (C’mon admit it…you love me)
  • has a sense of entitlement (Its my right to have blah blah blah…)
  • is interpersonally exploitative (What’s in it for me?, You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours)
  • lacks empathy (You lost your job? Too bad, my boss will never fire me, Im too damn important!)
  • is often envious of others or believes others are envious of him or her (She’s just jealous because Im pretty and she’s not)
  • shows arrogant, haughty behaviors or attitudes (I’m a biatch, bitch!)

If you have three or more of the symptoms above, this means you have it bad and you should go to a mental institution to have yourself fixed. The doctor will most probably tell you to lay off the internet, delete your Myspace, Friendster, Facebook, Multiply and Twitter account, and go out into the world and help someone other than yourself. (Seriously, it can be bad when it starts to affect your ability to stay in a relationship.)

echo and narcissus

the nymph echo and narcissus

But who in their right mind would want to do that? right?

I for one like my Myspace, Friendster, and Twitter account because they are great tools for viral marketing, like promoting my blog for instance🙂 I do admit I have more than one or two of the “friendster shots” in my album, after all its an unspoken rule: Thou shall have a narcissistic photo of thy self in thy profile.

5 thoughts on “Social networking breeds narcissism

  1. Interesting blog you have going on.

    I invite you to visit my blog and subscribe to my RSS feed, I’m going to be giving away a free review soon, by subscribing to my RSS through e-mail you have a chance to win a blog review.

Leave a Reply

