What Barack Obama means to me

artwork by Shepherd Fairey

artwork by Shepherd Fairey

This is a historic day not just in the US, but for the rest of the world as well. From my little corner of the world here in the Philippines, I have avidly followed the US Presidential elections and I am so happy with the results.

I used to steer clear of any talks about politics (esp. here in my country) because I feel that almost all politicians are the same…promising change but not really fulfilling that promise. But after watching Barack Obama’s speech today, I felt hopeful that change has indeed come.

During the campaign, I admired the maturity and composure Obama showed compared to John McCain. McCain is very passionate, aggressive and most probably, quite a force to be reckoned with in his youth. However, everytime I see him on tv, he is always bad mouthing Obama, and instead of looking like the regal statesman/veteran that he is, he is looking more and more like a grumpy old man. My grandfather was a US veteran, and McCain somehow reminds me of him and what his principles were like. I respect McCain, but his campaign team is just so old school.

Watching Obama, he looks like the “Father” figure America needs right now. When he opens his mouth, you know he is going to say something that makes sense. He listens and you know he is really thinking and paying attention to what people are saying. He is smart, and very charismatic. When he is talking about tough issues, you know he means business but when he smiles…*sigh* you see just how young he is inside and you just want to smile back at him.

Obama is a great inspiration and role model for today’s generation. The fate of America is resting on his shoulders, but seeing how he can move the people to listen and work alongside him, I know he will succeed. America is also lucky to have Michelle Obama as their first lady. What a great team these two will be. Being married, I know how critical it is for a wife to support your husband. I think Michelle will do a great job as well helping the country and the world get better!

Obama embodies the hopes of everyone who wants something better in their life. All you need is for one man to awaken the world, and I know Obama’s presidency will create a positive effect for generations to come. It gives me hope for my son’s future.

Sen. Barack Obama spoke at a rally in Grant Park in Chicago, Illinois, after winning the race for the White House on November 4, 2008. Read more about Obama’s speech

Pres. Barack Obama

Barack Obama

Leave a Reply

