Movie Martes: Slumdog Millionaire & Push

Movie Martes or Tuesday Movies will be my post about Movies I’ve watched and movies that we can look forward to.  For my first Movie Martes, I have two films that I recommend: Slumdog Millionaire and Push.

Slumdog Millionaire

slumdog-millionaire-001

Slumdog Millionaire is Golden Globe’s grand slam winner: winning the awards for best film, best director, best adapted screenplay and best original score. This is one of the best films that I’ve seen! It’s a most engaging visual buffet paired with a soundtrack made by the Mozart of Madras- A.R. Rahman, you’ll find yourself swept away in Jamal’s unbelievable adventures!

Slumdog is a feel good film, one that most Filipino’s could easily relate to. The movie is set in India, but the story and the adventures of the young Jamal and his brother Salim could easily be anyone’s story. Here in the Philippines, we are so crazy about game shows! Wowowee, Wheel of Fortune,  Deal or No Deal…after all, who doesn’t want to be a millionaire?

For me, this film gave me a glimpse of what I thought Bollywood films are. However, there are some like Pradeep Sebastian of Deccan Herald who said:

Bollywood is better than Slumdog!

I’ve never watched a real Bollywood film before so I couldn’t compare, but I do think that Loveleen Tandan the Indian Co-director, was instrumental to the success of this film. Watch out for this film!

Push

200px-pushposter081

Push is a movie about ordinary people with extraordinary powers, kinda like X-men without the costumes. It will be shown on February 2009 in the US and stars Chris Evans, Djimon Hounsou, Dakota Fanning, and Camilla Belle. I’m looking forward to watching this film because of Dakota Fanning. The 5yo girl that I loved in Spielberg’s Taken is all grown up and my lawd! ain’t she purty?!

dakotafanning021

My only beef here is this film is a lot like Tim Kring’s Heroes! Although I wouldn’t mind it if the movie turns out to be way better than Heroes.

Get your popcorns ready, let’s watch some movies!

8 thoughts on “Movie Martes: Slumdog Millionaire & Push

  1. ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ is no Bollywood movie, as Pradeep Sebastian would want it. If it were a Bollywood movie, I don’t think it would ever be nominated to the Golden Globes in the first place🙂

    btw, do we have ‘Push’? \m/

  2. Pingback: Writer’s Wednesday « Thumbbook

  3. Pingback: Changing Slumdog Millionaire’s Title? « Thumbbook

Leave a Reply

