The time to grow

Enough on the financial crisis already! We already know we are in for a bumpy 2009. Lucky charms, dragon dances, and feng shui are useless if you don’t get off your butt and adapt to these changing times.

I was reading CNN’s story about China’s migrant workers leaving the cities to go back to their provinces. But there are some families, like in the story here, that have no choice but to stay because they have nowhere else to go.

Reminds me of the time when I lived in Cebu, I was so depressed when the job I wanted wasn’t working out the way I planned it. Everything was out of whack and I had to quit my job. I became a recluse for 3-4 months. I didn’t want to go back home a failure, but I didn’t know how to get myself out of the rut I was in.

It was Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist that woke me up from my deep sleep. I realized I had to go out, re-invent myself again, and perhaps l’ll discover what my goal is along the way. Soon, I found a job and gained new friends.

I’ve traveled to far off Cebu and even to Marinduque hoping to find what is missing in my life, only to discover that it was actually right here all along. My treasure was right here at home! It was not about the money, being an executive, and dressing up in nice fancy clothes. It was coming to terms with who I am, what I am, and what my real values should be: Family, Love, and Faith. I had to take that journey to help me grow and mature. I wouldn’t have understood what my dreams meant if I didn’t take that step to follow it.

step

Every stressful situation is a blessing in disguise. We are like seeds being pushed down in the dirt, separated from the warmth and security of the pod. We struggle to get out of this darkness, every effort testing our patience and  strength.

seed

We know we have to push ourselves up from the darkness, but to get up we know we need to grow roots to steady us. We reach out to friends, family, or loved ones to nourish our soul.

roots

Finally, when we break free of the darkness, it is only in the light that we realize we are not seeds anymore. We are made different by this experience, and that is just the beginning of the transformations that we will go through in life.

grow

We have the right to be angry, to be sad, or to cry when things don’t go the way we want them. We are only human. But when you’re done crying and feeling angry at the world, make a plan on what you could do differently to get back on track. It won’t be easy, but one thing is for sure, you will have gained experience and perhaps a little maturity from it.

I’m only in my thirties, but I sure feel old. I guess this is what happens when you’ve already “been there and done that”. I’m still setting my sights on more enriching pursuits, the process of growing never ends when you’re in the Light. If you are not yet in your seventies, then you can still go ahead and pursue your dreams. Do not waste your youth. Time is so precious, Grow!

Leave a Reply

