Embracing Diversity

“All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights”

I was still a child when I first heard about this declaration. It was something I heard on the radio, or something I overheard from conversations between my father and his friends…human rights…our rights. My father was a firm believer and fighter for human rights. It was only now that I am older that I found out about the things he had done in his youth to fight for his beliefs.

Non-discrimination is the focus of this year’s commemoration of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. This means not judging a person on the basis of race, colour, gender, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, disability, property, birth or other status. For me it just means one thing…respect.

My previous jobs had me exposed to all sorts of people. From socialites and corporate bigwigs, to getting down and dirty with butchers, street vendors, and everyone else in between. It is not too hard to relate to these people if you only realize they are not so different from you after all. And in the global marketplace where I now work, skill and talent is key to getting a job and not because you have flawless make up or a stunning profile photo.

There is still a long way to go to end discrimination, but it can be done through our efforts, education, and teaching our kids about the different culture and practices of people around the world.

Leave a Reply

