The plot thickens with Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Let me introduce myself, since Alisa’s already sleeping, and I’ve been tasked with “managing” her blog:

I am Ronald, Alisa’s hubby, and I’ve been too lazy to manage my *own* blog. Since I and our kid have been playing Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 like warpigs, she requested that I write a review for her.

I can honestly consider myself an addict of PC games, but not necessarily a gamer. I’ve fiddled with Half Life, with its mod, CounterStrike, then went on to play the Medal of Honor series.

Then came Call of Duty, and its “revolutionary” health system (you don’t need to carry around health packs; just make sure that you take cover when there’s gunfire).

I’ve played Call of Duty 3 and 5 on the PS2. When we were finally able to upgrade the home desktop, I immediately installed Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (COD4) and Call of Duty 5: World at War (COD5).

I was crazy about COD4. I’d get into fights with Alisa simply because I’d stay up late at night just to finish a chapter. Yep, a chapter: just like a book. And just like a book, COD4 is as exciting as a Tom Clancy novel.

I was raving stark mad about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, the year’s most awaited sequel to COD4. Fortunately, the  hardware requirements didn’t go that far from what’s required for COD4, and COD6 also “booted” up faster than COD4.

There are new technologies, new firearms to choose from, and new keyboard controls to use (to throw a flashbang, press Q; to melee attack, press E, instead of V). The graphic quality, the storyline, and (whoa!) the fantastic (and oftentimes, frustrating) enemy AI simply pulled the game a notch higher.

The storyline takes place five years after the events of COD4. In COD4, you played the character of Soap MacTavish, who’s now the player’s superior and mentor in COD6. Twists and turns take place as you go from Afghanistan to Moscow to Rio de Janeiro to Siberia to Washington. If you do need to know the plot right away, though, read up at Wikipedia.

The game developers thoughtfully placed a note at the beginning of the game, suggesting that you can turn on a feature to skip chapters deemed offensive. Controversies have arisen around the “No Russian” chapter, where the player needs to massacre civilians in a terrorist attack at the Moscow International Airport. The chapter reminded me of the Maguindanao Massacre, where scores of helpless civilians, including journalists, were gunned down by armed men connected with a powerful political clan.

As parents, though, we were afraid of the possible desensitization to violence when kids play COD6. The game’s graphic engine is powerful enough to simulate spurting blood from wounds and really graphic head shots. We stopped Gabby from playing the game when we noticed that he was laughing at enemies being shot at the head. We told him that although it was all a game, war and its attendant violence is no laughing matter. It was a good thing we were around as he played.

Here in the Philippines, there are numerous computer shops where kids of Gabby’s age (10 years old) can play any game they want, including Modern Warfare 2, without adult supervision. Sad, but really, really, true.

Overall, the game is one heck of a book. It’s hard to put down (or quit) once you’ve started reading (or playing) it. The single-player campaign, though, is short! Bitin!
The ending cut scene suggests the story doesn’t end with the antagonist’s death. Of course!

The primary antagonist is still alive….

4 thoughts on “The plot thickens with Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

  1. Great article. There’s a lot of good data here, though I did want to let you know something – I am running Mac OS X with the current beta of Firefox, and the design of your blog is kind of bizarre for me. I can understand the articles, but the navigation doesn’t function so well.

Leave a Reply

