The Secret of Kells

I love this animation film by Cartoon Saloon

Youtube has a few of the trailers but I would love to watch this on the big screen. I do wonder when they plan on showing it in the Philippines. I was instantly drawn to this film…my husband says its because I was Irish in my past life…snort…hahaha!

I love Aisling’s song…I love listening to it over and over again!

Aisling’s Song

You must go where I can not,

Pangur Ban Pangur Ban,

Nil sa saol seo ach ceo,

Is ni bheimid beo,

ach seal beag gearr.

Pangur Ban Pangur Ban,

Nil sa saol seo ach ceo,

Is ni bheimid beo,

ach seal beag gearr

Translation from systemKT08 of youtube:

You must go where I cannot Pangur Ban, Pangur Ban

It’s a misty old world,and we are only in it for a short, sharp while

29 thoughts on “The Secret of Kells

  1. oh my god thank you soooo much for posting the lyrics! i’ve been looking for them EVERYWHERE and all that came out was a poem which had nothing to do with the actual song!
    i was wondering if you know the translation? that would be great ^_^

  2. The translation is:
    Pangur Ban Ban Pangur

    Nil sa saol seo ach ceo
    not in this life but fog,

    Is ni bheimid beo
    we live there,

    ach seal beag gearr
    but little short stay.

    Pangur Ban Ban Pangur

    Nil sa saol seo ach ceo
    not in this life but fog,

    Is ni bheimid beo
    we live there,

    ach seal beag gearr
    but little short stay.

  3. hiya…was wondering if anybody knows if this song is based on an original…and if so, where to find this…thanks for the help!

      • Wow, sorry–meant to reply to a different email, and suddenly I got shot over here.

        The original poem was in Old Irish; the lyrics to the song (which are completely different than the original poem about Pangur Ban) are modern Irish (some people refer to it as “Gaelic,” but we forgive ’em).

  4. Here’s a better translation:

    You must go where I can not,
    White Fuller White Fuller,
    There is nothing in this world but mist
    We only live in it
    for a short, sharp time.
    White Fuller White Fuller,
    There is nothing in this world but mist
    We only live in it
    for a short, sharp time.

    By the way, “Pangur Ban” should have an accent over the ‘a’– like so: Bán

    coming from this poem http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pangur_Bán

  5. hi! You can download it, I doubt that it will be showed in the Philippines since it was made for the children of Europe.

    it should be available for dload and you can probably get the dvd via online shopping.

  6. The language is Irish Gaelic. A beautiful language to hear spoken or sung. Currently, the film is not available on DVD in the US. If you have a region free player, it is available from Amazon.UK (a friend of mine bought it.) It is also playing at many theaters around the US right now (a list is available on the Secret of Kells Facebook page or the website). If you haven’t seen it in the theater and it is playing anywhere near you, you owe it to yourself to see it on the big screen. It is breathtakingly, almost painfully, beautiful. The most stunning work of animation I have seen!

  7. i super love this song even if i am not an Irish in the past, or anything. I’m a Filipino! woohoo!
    thanks for posting!

  8. Thank you very much. ^^

    For those still curious about it, the soundtrack is available as an MP3 download from Amazon.com, and is well worth the money spent on it.

  9. Netflix is now streaming this film in its entirety so you can view it online. Just watched it and was glad to find this blog. Loved Pangur Ban. The film is enchantingly beautiful.

  10. Thanks, I’ve seen the movie. You can get it on Netflix.
    I love the song and I was never sure if the song was
    Gaelic or Irish. The girl looks like she’s 9 0r 10.

  11. You must go where I can not,
    Pangur Bán, my cat; Pangur Bán, my cat
    There is in this world but fog,
    It will not be alive,
    but a short time.
    You must go where I can not,
    Pangur Bán, my cat; Pangur Bán, my cat
    There is in this world but fog,
    It will not be alive,
    but a short time.

  12. the girl that sings that is in my class her name
    is christen shes really nice ive known her for 5
    years shes the girl from the knor soup add

    • btw the lang in it is gaelige thats irish 4 irish not gaelic thats football im from ireland we dont all speak irish here even christen who sings the song speaks english

  13. Aisling may look 8 or 9 but she is a Sidhe. Aisling has lived through several AGES. One as a salmon, one as a deer, and this one as a wolf. Ages are otherwise know to us as Epocs. They can not be measured in years for they are more than thousands of years each… The Sidhe are timeless and Aisling’s song is a fairy bunk or known as a spell. I love me some Gaelige!(Irish for the pureists! ;P)

  14. Is kinda crazy looking at a Irish site when I’m Australian haha. But when first watch the movie (The Secrets of Kells) it took me a little time to understand it when I got to the bit with Alslling’s song i was amazed by it. I have been looking for this for weeks and here I now have found thank you to the people who created this movie this website and thank you for the people who did all the translations so I (we) could understand better THANK YOU SO MUCH THE PEOPLE OF THE THE GALAXY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!🙂❤🙂

Leave a Reply

